LPBLT BioBlitz

Location: Shirley and George Pond Nature Reserve
1653 Front Road, St. Williams, ON N0E 1M0

Come out to participate in the LPBLT Canada 150 BioBlitz! This community learning event will have a focus on teaching participants skills and knowledge on plant and butterfly identification throughout the day and bats and moth identification at night. Participants will be able to gain valuable insight on how biological inventories are conducted and how to identify the local flora and fauna of Norfolk County and the Carolinian region.

Our one-day event will be divided into three different learning opportunities that participants can register for.

Registration for this event is mandatory. Registration information can be found here. 

Session 1 – 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.  Plant Identification

Session 2 – 1:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.  Butterfly Identification

Dinner Break  5:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.

Session 3 – 8:30 p.m. – 11:00 p.m.  Bat information session and Moth Identification

If you have any questions, please contact Lyndsay Shular, Stewardship Coordinator at steward@longpointlandtrust.ca or 519-420-9913.

 

Additional Information

In addition to the BioBlitz event, here’s information on places nearby that can be enjoyed while in the area.

Places to eat
Burning Kiln winery –  https://www.burningkilnwinery.ca/   (519) 586-9858

Blueberry Hill estates – http://blueberry-hill.ca/   (519) 586-2256

Olde thyme Deli and Eatery – https://www.facebook.com/Olde-tyme-deli-and-eatery-1555907808043636/
(519) 586-9999

Country Fork – https://www.facebook.com/countryforkPR   (226) 534-1616

Uncle’s Country Coffee – https://www.facebook.com/Uncles-Country-Coffee-1454177411516075/   (519) 586-8537

The Boathouse Restaurant Port Rowan – https://www.facebook.com/theboathouserestaurantportrowan/
(519) 586-9316

Turkey Point Hotel – https://www.norfolktourism.ca/directory/listing/the-turkey-point-hotel    (519) 426-6236

Turkey Vegas Bar and Grill – https://www.norfolktourism.ca/directory/listing/turkey-vegas  (519) 426-6200

Circus Room Diner –  https://www.norfolktourism.ca/directory/listing/circus-room-diner   (519) 426-3782

 

Places to stay
Long Point Eco Adventures – http://www.lpfun.ca/   (877) 743-8687

Turkey Point Provincial Park – https://www.ontarioparks.com/park/turkeypoint  (519) 426-3239

Backus Heritage Conservation Area –  http://www.lprca.on.ca/pages/1357922890/Backus-Heritage  (519) 586-2201

Long Point Provincial Park – https://www.ontarioparks.com/park/longpoint   (519) 586-2133

 

You must Login to Our site to register this event!